What is the difference between "Reload screen", "Clear cache" and "Clear data" ?

What is the difference between "Reload screen", "Clear cache" and "Clear data" ?

All three options allow you to remotely maintain the Pickcel app
(To access these options go to screen details and click on three dots - refer to the screenshot below)

Reload Screen: This will reload/refresh the installed Pickcel application and fetch the latest schedule again. You can use this to validate if the screen is connected to the console (there is not network issue) or if the scheduled content is running on the screen.

Clear Cache: This will clear the local cache (the locally stored scripts and schedule definitions) of the Pickcel application, and immediately fetch the scripts/schedule definitions from the console again, and reload the screen. This option can be used if you observe content/schedule is not playing correctly and the issue does not get rectified after screen reload. 

Clear Data: This will clean all the files (all media files and script files) that have been downloaded so far to the local storage by the Pickcel app and then re-download the currently playing content and start playing it. This option can be used if you suspect the media files are not playing correctly or have corrupted.
This option should be used carefully and preferably should not be used in case of slow/unstable internet.


    • Related Articles

    • How do I deactivate a display/screen?

      Watch on youtube!                             1. Log in to Pickcel https://console.pickcel.com/#/ 2. Select the "Screen" option from the menu 3. Click on the name of the screen that you want to deactivate from the list of added screens 4. The screen ...
    • What is a difference between Quick Play and Scheduling?

      Quick play : This is to display the contents on the screen on demand immediately for maximum of 24 hours. This can be utilized for displaying emergency messages. This option will be given first priority while running the contents. Scheduling : Here ...
    • How many schedules can I assign to a single screen?

      A single screen can have only one active schedule at any given time.  If a new schedule is assigned to a screen that already has an active schedule, the new schedule will replace the existing one. 
    • Why is my screen always showing the default composition?

      The default composition plays when there is no Quick Play or scheduled content assigned to your screen at any given time.  However, if you have set a Quick Play or have scheduled any composition and it is still not reflecting on your screen, then ...
    • Can I reboot my signage screen remotely and how?

      Yes, you can remotely reboot the application.  Steps for rebooting: 1. Select the display (Screen) module and click on the display name to navigate to display details.    2. Click on the three dots at the top right corner and select the 'Reboot ...